MedVet Pathogens,October 8 - 11, 2018 Prato, Italy


Organisers: Alda Natale (IT), John Boyce (AU), Joachim Frey (CH), Marina Harper (AU), Tom Inzana (US), Jose Vazquez-Boland (chair, UK)

Thank you to everyone who attended this year's MedVetPATHOGENS 2018 Conference in Prato, Italy! 

IMG 4148


Formerly known as VetPath, this conference series was initiated in 2010 by Julian Rood and Ben Adler together with a group of international colleagues to fill a major gap in the microbial conference spectrum by bringing together scientists and veterinarians interested in infection mechanisms of veterinary pathogens.

With the rebranding of the Prato conference as MedVetPATHOGENS we would like in 2018 to attract scientists interested in the biology of bacterial pathogens as a whole, whether veterinary or medical. The conference retains the focus on animals as a unique source of host-pathogen interaction models, diversity of ecological and evolutionary scenarios, and reservoirs for virulence and resistance traits. MedVetPATHOGENS is guided by the “one health” ethos in recognition to the fact that the distinction between human and veterinary pathogens is merely artificial; they are not discrete microbial entities but the consequence of niche and host adaptive processes in an evolutionary continuum.

All aspects of bacterial pathogenesis and bacterial infections will be covered, although contributions on antimicrobial resistance and the microbiome will be particularly welcome in this edition.

There will be also a monographic Pasteurellaceae session led by Andrew Rycroft (Royal Veterinary College, London) and Janine Bossé (Imperial College, London).

Join us to participate and discuss exciting talks and presentations from internationally renowned scientists in the field such as Pascale Cossart, Carmen Buchrieser, Julian Parkhill, Roland Brosch, Philippe Glaser, Bruno Gonzalez-Zorn, Carlos Martin, Jose Penades, Peter Kuhnert and many more.

Speaker opportunities are available in all sessions, including oral contributions from junior scientists and PhD students.